MEMBERS
TOPICS
FLASH GAMES
TUTORIALS

Login

E-mail:
Password:

Micrography in Photoshop

Join this free Photoshop forum and learn from all out other members.

Micrography in Photoshop

Postby Voyager » Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:19 pm

Novice here so go easy on me. :)

Anyone here know of any clever ways to create Micrography in Photoshop using a pre-existing image?

Here is an excellent example of Micography. Carson Grier, creater of LA Pop Art, made this illustration of Don Corleone using the script of The Godfather.

I was wondering if maybe there was a way to take a pre-existing image of say, a mountain range, then take all of the text from a word doc, create an image using the two and then shade the text to create lighting effects, much like the image above.

Any ideas?
Voyager

Highscores: 0
Arcade winning challenges: 0

Micrography in Photoshop - Sponsored results

Sponsored results

Login to get rid of ads

Postby Rachjm » Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:53 pm

That should be easy enough. What I'd do is:

1 - Open your image - right click and choose "Layer from background > OK"
2 - Choose "Image > Adjustments > Desaturate"
3 - Create a new text layer (click+drag to draw a text box that's the same size as your canvas)
4 - Copy and paste your Word document text (in black) into the text box
5 - Drag your text layer so that it's underneath your image layer
6 - Add a plain white bacgkround layer (Shift+CTRL+N, then fill with paint bucket) and make sure that it's underneath all of your other layers
7 - Right-click on your main, grayscale image and select "Create clipping mask"

Hope you didn't find that too complicated - it's really very quick. What'll take you the most time is picking a font that you like and getting that text packed nice and close together so that plenty of your image shows through... :)
Rachjm

Re: Micrography in Photoshop

Postby Jerryb » Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:13 pm

hi,
first keep in mind what ever meathod is used depend on the picture..